A Hollywood Ending – Robyn Sisman

I first found Robyn Sisman when I was in my early teens through Just Friends. I loved that book. It is one of my all time favourites to read. Now why am I reviewing one that isn’t that book? Well simply, I have just recently finished A Hollywood Ending compared to Just Friends. It seems to follow a similar pattern to that of her previous books so Sisman is clearly working under the ethos that if it isn’t broken, don’t fix it. For some, this philosophy doesn’t work as the same storyline repeated but with different characters can make an author boring. Sisman falls into this category I am afraid.

Plot

This book is about a woman named Paige Carson. A movie star with an Oscar under her belt. However, her career is on the decline and after being embarrassed by her current co-star, she decided a change in needed. Off to England she goes to perform in a Shakespearean play. However, obstacles appear before her in the shapes of no car service, an obnoxious landlord named Ed, can she even act and no one seems to care who she is.

Opinion

I don’t think I need to continue with the plot. Can you see where this book is going? We have an uptight American who comes to England and annoys the hell out of an English guy whilst panicking that maybe she really can’t act. So what happens? She falls in love with the English guy (obviously a twist involved) and succeeds at the play.

Don’t get me wrong. I love chick lits. From the paragraph above you might surmise that I don’t. Cecelia Ahern is one of my favourite authors and my previous read of Sisman’s was excellent. It’s just this followed the same storyline as her previous book. An English person and an American person, both headstrong, both on failing careers or with a boss who doesn’t appreciate them. Falling in love, arguing, missed a sign from each other etc etc. its just the same. <—Not a happy chappy.

All in all, not a great read. If you want a good Robyn Sisman book, read Just Friends not this. My verdict 5/10. 

Leave a comment

Filed under Book Review, Chick Lit, Robyn Sisman

Leave a Reply

